Wilbur Smith – Desert God (2014)

Wilbur Smith is a great story teller. He’s now age-81. But still writing.

I’m totally enjoying his latest.

The Ancient Egypt series is an historical fiction series based in a large part on Pharaoh Memnon’s time, addressing both his story and that of his mother Lostris through the eyes of his mother’s slave Taita, and mixing in elements of the Hyksos’ domination and eventual overthrow.

River God (1994)
The Seventh Scroll (1995)
Warlock (2001)
The Quest (2007)
Desert God (2014)

Desert God


“My life is as good now as it’s ever been, if not very much better since I met Niso,” he says, and so it should be, as his Tajik-born wife is 39 years younger than he is, and startlingly pretty. They met 14 years ago, when he stalked and bagged her in WH Smith’s, catching sight of her browsing the John Grishams and directing her to the shelf groaning under his own novels. …

He has an appropriate level of modesty for a man whose books have sold more than 120 million copies – that is, minimal. …

Wilbur Smith interview for Desert God: ‘My life is as good as it’s ever been’


Published by

Rick Mc

Career gymnastics coach who loves the outdoors, and the internet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.