Malazan Book of the Fallen – brilliant

But I’m giving up the series.

MalazanBookOfTheFallen… written by Canadian author Steven Erikson, published in ten volumes beginning with the novel Gardens of the Moon, published in 1999. The series was completed with the publication of The Crippled Godin February 2011. …

The series is not told in a linear fashion. Instead, several storylines progress simultaneously, with the individual novels moving backwards and forwards between them. As the series progresses, links between these storylines become more readily apparent. …

Reviewing for SF Site, Dominic Cilli wrote, “Steven Erikson’s The Malazan Book of the Fallen has single-handedly raised the bar for fantasy literature,” praising Erikson’s ambition and humor …

So what’s not to like?

I got a couple of hundred pages into book 1 – Gardens of the Moon. It’s extremely well written. But too complex. Too confusing. There are too many characters. And far too much magic for me. Magic in a plot structure = Deus ex machina. Any dilemma can be solved by another burst of magic.

Gardens is demanding work. For the casual reader it may prove inaccessibly so …

Suffice it to say that this is a book to be read attentively, and that there is much you will appreciate and much you’ll find bewildering. …

SF Reviews

Published by

Rick Mc

Career gymnastics coach who loves the outdoors, and the internet.

One thought on “Malazan Book of the Fallen – brilliant”

Leave a Reply to inkinsky Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.