First Law trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

I finished the The First Law  series by British author Joe Abercrombie. Now started the first of a series of stand-alone novels set in the same world.

If dislike blood, guts and battle scenes, you won’t like this series.


Sand dan Glokta is a compelling character. A champion swordsman turned torturer in the Inquisition. Who – by the end of book 3 – is running the The Union itself.

Book 1 begins with Logen Ninefingers, infamous barbarian warrior of the North, falling off a cliff into a river. Book 3 ends with the Bloody Nine jumping out of a window. Into water.

Aside from that nice touch, book 3 is the weakest. As so often happens in lengthy fantasy fiction, the author has problems wrapping things up in a satisfactory way.

Still … I’ve started book 4. It’s got me hooked.

The author has finally begun a new work, by the way.  The Shattered Sea series for young adults.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.