Chief Inspector Armand Gamache books

Friends recommended a series of books by Canadian author Louise Penny.

Still Life is the debut novel in the series and introduces the character Chief Inspector Armad Gamache. …

… one of the beloved residents, Miss Jane Neal, was shot in the heart with an arrow. Neal is an archery enthusiast and retired school teacher and Gamache must investigate to solve the murder. …

This book was adapted as a 2013 film starring Nathaniel Parker as Gamache.

still-life It’s excellent. I’ll definitely be continuing on to book 2.

The novels are set in the province of Quebec but feature many hallmarks of the British whodunit genre, including murders by unconventional means, bucolic villages, large casts of suspects, red herrings, and a dramatic disclosure of the murderer in the last few pages of the book.

In 2009, Penny helped to launch a new award for aspiring Canadian mystery writers, the Unhanged Arthur for Best Unpublished First Novel.

Penny currently lives in Knowlton, a small village in Quebec’s Eastern Townships about 100 km from Montreal.


Published by

Rick Mc

Career gymnastics coach who loves the outdoors, and the internet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.