The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin

 Fifth Season is a 2015 science fantasy novel by N. K. Jemisin. It was awarded the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 2016. It is the first volume in the Broken Earth series …

The Fifth Season takes place on a planet with a single supercontinent called the Stillness. Every few centuries, its inhabitants endure what they call a “Fifth Season” of catastrophic climate change …

Orogenes: People with the ability to control energy, particularly that of the earth (directly) and temperature (indirectly). They can cause and prevent earthquakes, and when angered can unintentionally kill living things …

Guardians: Warriors, hunters, and assassins tasked with controlling orogenes …

Stone eaters: Moving sculpture-like beings …

The Fifth Season is being adapted for television …

Jemisin won the Hugo two years in a row for this series. It’s getting rave reviews. But I found the plot too complicated. Precious inventiveness over proper storytelling. I’ve no plans to continue on to book 2.

In fact … I downloaded the new Dan Brown instead.


Published by

Rick Mc

Career gymnastics coach who loves the outdoors, and the internet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.