In a House of Lies by Ian Rankin

In a House of Lies (2018) is the 22nd instalment in the Inspector Rebus series written by Ian Rankin.

Some boys discover a car in a deep gully in some woodland. Inside is a handcuffed corpse; the ex-lover of the dead man was the son of a serving detective inspector in what was the old Lothian & Borders Police Force of Rebus’ day before it became Police Scotland. As ever, Rebus and also ‘Big Ger’ Cafferty, are connected to the case and end up featuring prominently in the investigation, in which Detective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is also a major player.

Barry Forshaw, writing in The Guardian:

 “How has Rankin kept the series fresh for 22 novels? Deft characterisation.

Readers must keep up with a lengthy dramatis personae, but there’s nothing wrong with making us work a little.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.