The Chessmen by Peter May

The Chessmen is last of the Lewis trilogy.

Peter May is an excellent writer.

Former police detective Fin McLeod is back on the remote Scottish Isle of Lewis of his birth.

He found work as security officer for a local landowner.  Mostly chasing down poachers.

The opening of this book is fantastic. Finn and childhood friend Whistler happened to witness a freak natural phenomenon–a bog burst–which drains a loch of all its water in a flash.

Revealed below was a mud-encased light aircraft. Finn immediately knows it’s Roddy Mackenzie plane, a friend whose flight disappeared more than seventeen years earlier.

So it begins.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.