The Giver & Son by Lois Lowry


The Giver is a 1993 American young adult dystopian novel written by Lois Lowry.

… The novel follows a 12-year-old boy named Jonas. The society has taken away pain and strife by converting to “Sameness”, a plan that has also eradicated emotional depth from their lives. Jonas is selected to inherit the position of Receiver of Memory, the person who stores all the past memories of the time before Sameness …

The Giver won the 1994 Newbery Medal and has sold more than 12 million copies worldwide as of 2018.

It has been the subject of a large body of scholarly analysis with academics considering themes of memory, religion, color and eugenics within the novel.

In Australia, Canada, and the United States, it is on many middle school reading lists.

A 2012 survey based in the U.S. designated it the fourth-best children’s novel of all time.

The author had originally intended not to write more about Jonas and the baby — but finally published Son in 2012.

… it follows Claire, the birth mother of Gabriel, the baby seen in The Giver, the first book in the series. Claire is obsessed with finding her son. …

Themes in Son include those of love, obligation, sacrifice, and loss. …

For me, the sequel was good — but not great.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.